Cannes Film Festival 2013: Part 2

With a cool 45 minutes to be red-carpet-ready I was starting to panic somewhat, so after a shower, quick slick of make-up and a swift up do – sounds easier than it was I assure you, I attempted my best saunter (whilst tripping a couple of times on the length of my dress en route) down to the hotel bar to meet my companions for the evening – by this stage a refreshing glass of fizz was perfectly timed and in my hand. We left the hotel and went on our merry way to see the premiere of ‘Jeune et Jolie’, it actually turned out to be very good, in an artistic Cannes kind of way. As we approached the red carpet, which I can only describe as a very well executed whirl wind, cameras flashed at break neck speed and we were ushered on up to take our seats – admittedly it felt very odd watching a film in a floor length gown as normally it’s in my comfiest pj’s curled up on the sofa.

IMG_3461

IMG_3534

168934080_10

IMG_3480

IMG_3604

IMG_3489

IMG_3492

After the screening we drove away from the throngs of media moguls and further into the hills where we arrived at Michelin Starred chef Bruno Oger’s beautiful restaurant ‘Villa Archange’. Offering up the prettiest of settings including quaint little courtyard, lanterns hanging from the trees, and the most beautifully decorated private dining room, we all ravenously tucked into some much needed supper.

IMG_3498

IMG_3496

DSC05884

The next morning I peeled myself out of the gorgeously decadent sheets with a bit of a blurry head and popped out for a stroll down the Croisette. With designer boutiques in abundance and some of the most glamorous people I’ve ever seen I happily immersed myself in the sights before our scheduled culinary master class at the Agora Pavillion.

IMG_3524

IMG_3523

IMG_3520

IMG_3517

DSC05902

DSC05900

DSC05944

DSC05916

DSC05915

DSC05914

DSC05912

The trip concluded with a lesson in cooking with the incredible Grand Cuisine appliances, courtesy of Magnus and Paulo, and a lunch at the chefs table – yes more food…and wine!!

DSC05922

DSC05924

DSC05925

DSC05934

DSC05936

DSC05938

IMG_3536

DSC05946

It would be an understatement to say I was sad when my once in a lifetime trip to the Film Festival came to an end but it felt good to come back down to earth and leave the red carpet to the pros!

Ax

What do you think?

